Meet the TriSonics

Our Mentors

140

Chad Potinsky
Lead Mentor

Chad Potinsky is the head mentor for Allendale Robotics. Allendale Robotics started as a few FLL teams in 2010, but in 2012 he founded our FRC Team - 4003: The TriSonics. During the day, he is an Advanced Manufacturing Engineer working for ODL in Zeeland, MI.

chad@allendalerobotics.com

140

David Austin
Programming Mentor

David Austin started as a coach for FLL, but for the past five years, he has been the programming mentor for our FRC team, and the last three years for FTC. Dave during the day, is a professional mathematician teaching courses at our local university, Grand Valley State University.

austind@gvsu.edu

140

Dale Van Lopik
Fabrication Mentor

Dale Van Lopik has been with our FRC team since the creation in 2012. He works with our students in fabrication and is also the main mentor that works with the build team. Dale joined our team when he met Chad through Knoll. They've enjoyed working together ever since.

dale_vanlopik@knoll.com

140

Morrie Cunningham
Awards / Scouting / Strategy Mentor

Morrie has always been passionate about FIRST. His journey began when he participated in the Grandville High Schools' RoboDawgs, and still coaches FLL with them. Now, as a graduate from Grand Valley State, he mentors FRC team 4003 while working in the STEM field. 

morrie@allendalerobotics.com

140

Jim Dowd
Wiring/Assistant Programming Mentor

Jim joined the TriSonics in 2015. He has been very involved with helping the programming team, as well as the wiring team. 

jdowd5153@gmail.com

140

Justin Buist
Assistant Programming Mentor

Justin has been with the TriSonics for a few years now. He works with our head programming mentor David Austin, and helps in teaching students the basics of Java! He is employed at Countryside Greenhouse, a local sponsor of our team. 

justin.buist@gmail.com

140

Doug Diephouse
Assistant Design Mentor

Doug has been a part of the TriSonics and HexaSonics since 2017. He works at JR Automation, which became one of our new sponsors this year. He works in pricing there, and helps out with the design subteam. He is very ready and willing to help wherever is needed.   

DDiephouse@jrautomation.com

140

Kyle Flynn
Assistant Programming Mentor

Kyle has always been passionate about FIRST, he spent his time in High School on team 3618, Petoskey Paladins. During his time on the team, he was a Drive Team Member and a Programming Leader. Now, he's a Junior at GVSU studying Computer Science. He is excited to mentor the students of TriSonics.

kyle.flynn5798@yahoo.com

140

Aaron Dana
Assistant Fabrication/Build Mentor

Aaron joined the TriSonics in the 2018 FRC Season. He comes from one of our awesome sponsors, Standale Lumber. He has been helping the build team this year!

aarond@standalelumber.com

140

Drew Craven
Assistant Design Mentor

Drew joined the TriSonics for the 2018 FRC Season, and hopped into the Design team to help out. Currently, he is a sophomore at GVSU studying Mechanical Engineering. 

cravend@mail.gvsu.edu

140

Jennifer Cammenga
Sponsorship Mentor

Jennifer is new to the Allendale Robotics mentor family. She took on the sponsorship team and is having a very successful first year!

jennifer@allendalerobotics.com

140

Mindy Heyboer
Promotions Mentor

Mindy isn't new to the Allendale Robotics program, but she is new to the mentor family. She is an interior designer and is helping with some loose ends here and there. Her main focus is our promotions team, but is first helping make our pit nice and snazzy.

mindy@allendalerobotics.com

Our Members

Alexei

SENIOR

Elyse

SENIOR

Ethan D.

SENIOR

Ethan P.

SENIOR

Grant

SENIOR

Henry

SENIOR

Jacob D.

SENIOR

Jacob K.

SENIOR

Jason

SENIOR

Makaila

SENIOR

Matt T.

SENIOR

McKinley

SENIOR

Nick

SENIOR

Val

SENIOR

Ben

JUNIOR

Elijah

JUNIOR

Matt J.

JUNIOR

Austin

SOPHOMORE

Caiden

SOPHOMORE

Carl

SOPHOMORE

Colton

SOPHOMORE

Daniel

SOPHOMORE

David

SOPHOMORE

Isabell

SOPHOMORE

Jaden

SOPHOMORE

Jake

SOPHOMORE

Katina

SOPHOMORE

Maddie

SOPHOMORE

Simon

SOPHOMORE

TJ

SOPHOMORE

Alyssa

FRESHMAN

Carter

FRESHMAN

Celeste

FRESHMAN

Evan

FRESHMAN

Josie

FRESHMAN

Logan

FRESHMAN

Mason

FRESHMAN

Sam

FRESHMAN

Weston

FRESHMAN

Contact Us

Back to Top